‘The Territorial Sea is a belt of water not exceeding 12 nautical miles in width measured from the territorial sea baseline. Australia’s sovereignty extends to the territorial sea, its seabed and subsoil, and to the air space above it. This sovereignty is exercised in accordance with international law as reflected in the Convention on the Law of the Sea. The main limitation on Australia’s exercise of sovereignty in the territorial sea is the right of innocent passage for foreign ships. The territorial sea around certain islands in the Torres Strait is 3 nautical miles[5].