The area that extends from the limit of the territorial sea, which is 12 nautical miles offshore from the territorial sea baseline, to a maximum of 200 nautical miles, measured from the territorial sea baseline. The EEZ is less than 200 nautical miles in extent, where it coincides with the EEZ of another country. In this case, the boundaries between the two countries are defined by treaty. Australia has sovereign rights and responsibilities over the water column and the seabed in its EEZ, including the exploration and exploitation of natural resources.